Brooke's Baby Belly Blog

Updates and musings on my adventures in parenthood!

Friday Links

Hold the phone. So, it’s Thursday night, and I’m getting this post ready for Friday. And I’ve just realized that Sadie has been down in her crib for three hours. That may sound like small potatoes to some of you, but it’s a big deal around this little house. AND, last night, she slept from 11pm to 4:30am. I’m pretty sure she’s only ever slept that long in one go one other time in her life. When she was a week old. Okay, so now I’ve probably jinxed it, and she’ll wake up before I finish the post and for every hour on the hour until it’s time to get up.

Guess I’d better get these links in fast:

There is an urgent need for human breastmilk in Haiti. Of course, there’s a need for it here in the US all the time, but breastmilk can really be a life-saver in crises such as this. Because I am on prescription medication, I am ineligible to donate my milk. But if you are currently nursing an under-one-year-old and meet the other criteria and are willing to make the effort, please at least check into it.

I SO want to adopt some sort of home-management system. I actually wrote one out by hand the other day, and Trevor stuck it on the fridge, but we’ve pretty much done nothing with it. It’s the same way with dieting and exercise for me, I think. Would like to get on board, at least to some degree, but seriously lack the required motivation. Self-discipline has never been my strong suit. But, boy would I LOVE to have floors that are consistently free of fur and other visible debris. Or not to have to spend Sundays (our one full day together as a family each week) grocery shopping, running errands, doing laundry, etc. What I think I need is a task master. Like, a real live person who can boss me around and tell me to sweep the floors, walk the dogs and wash the shower curtain. Oh, and he or she would put Sadie down for a nap while I got all of it done.

In that vein, this sounds like a good idea. If only I would get around to making a list in the first place, in order to identify what my “frog” is.

As a co-sleeping, crib-sleeping family, I thought this post was interesting. It really does boil down to figuring out what works best for your family.

This made my tear up, for sure. It’s been a while since I’ve had a pet die, and it’s a part of having pets that I don’t look forward to. That said, it is one of the qualities of having pets for Sadie to grow up with that I think will benefit her in the long run. It will be devastating to lose each of our pets, but their deaths will provide an opportunity for Sadie to learn about many things–not just death. But for now, I just keep telling Tarzan he’s just going to have to live forever.

Oh, so we’re coming on three and a half hours! Squee!

One response to “Friday Links

  1. Shannon January 29, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    YAY for Sadie sleeping longer!!!

Leave a Reply

